absence of fear
8:56 pm - April 19, 2004

Well, I did it-- I managed to write a song that I actually like. It's a capella. I thought about putting piano to it but I like it a capella. It's called "Absence of Fear".

I am surfacing in a constant sea of days

Struggling in this wave of life

I try to clear my thoughts

But there's always more to feel

I should let this go

I hesitate and sink

And my sisters cry

We will be torn but not forever

Among the corners of the earth

And we will live and love

And laugh and cry

We are standing here

In the absence of fear

I am face to face

With my impurity and insecurity

I am not a perfect girl

The few who see past the smile

Know I could be dying inside

And my sisters cry

We will be torn but not forever

Among the corners of the earth

And we will live and love

And laugh and cry

We are standing here

In the absence of fear

I'm letting go

Releasing all the hours that I've held inside

The future's nestled in

My aching, searching, finding hands

And I feel like I

Could see this through

And finally understand

The reason why the seasons change

And I will laugh and cry

And know that I

Am standing here

In the absence of fear