-
10:09 pm - March 14, 2004

Well...I'm numb, but I also have these tears that constantly hover in my eyes. Sometimes I'm better at brushing them away, and other times I let them spill over, like in the car tonight, clutching two hands and wishing everything could be okay.

My mom has breast cancer, for those of you who don't know, which is nearly all of you. It's a hard thing to swallow. We just found out for sure today. We've been waiting for days, jumping every time the phone rings, and then today, it rang with a purpose. It's something called Ductile Cell Cancer. Whatever that is. There are a few different options.

You hear the statistics all the time, about how many women will get breast cancer. But you never think it will be your mom. You never think it will be someone so close to you. We aren't unbreakable or untouchable and sometimes we forget that. Everything was okay, and now it's not.