love lifts us up where we belong
10:08 pm - March 03, 2004

Oh man, everytime I read a news story or see a picture I want to smile and cry and laugh at the same time. So much happiness because of one simple decision that should have been made long, long ago. I've tried to understand the other side, tried to understand how someone could think this is wrong and I just can't! In this world where love is hard to find and marriage is kind of a joke anyway, what with people getting married and divorced at such a rapid rate, why can't we accept love wherever we find it? All that shit about the bible, and God's will, and the definition of marriage...it's shit, plain and simple. I don't believe it. I never will. I can't imagine how anyone could. Just take a look at some of the faces from today and that we'll be seeing for a long time and explain to me how it's wrong. So much joy for just being able to say a few words and get it recognized by somebody who doesn't know you, and yet, it's so much to someone who doesn't have it. Think about how you would feel if you were in their position, if you were in the minority, and all you wanted to was get married, and someone who wasn't you, who didn't know you, who made judgements about who you are, wouldn't let you. How is that fair?

I don't mean to put a negative/angry spin on this. It's WONDERFUL that it's happening. I'm so proud of Portland and everyone involved in this-- this is truly a great day!