september in seattle
9:53 pm - July 10, 2003

Title from the song "September In Seattle" by Shawn Mullins. Well actually this is July in Seattle, but it was off the top of my head-- I'm in an Internet caf� without any of my mp3s or CDs.

We were in Vancouver on Wednesday and the day before...visited UBC, totally overwhelming. 40,000 people--way too many!!! I would feel so lost. Today we went to see Western Washington University, oh my gosh, I absolutely loved it! So wonderful, I can totally picture myself there.

My mother is making this trip somewhat of a hell, however-- she keeps getting injured (although I think she's faking) and being bitchy in general. Very irritating when one is trying to have an awesome road trip. Yesterday my dad and I had food poisoning or something, not fun at all, we could barely eat anything. Better today although I still feel somewhat sick.

Yesterday while we were wandering in Vancouver, we pulled into a parking spot that a nice Canadian woman had just pointed us into, it had 45 minutes left on the meter. We thought that was very nice. There was another spot ahead of us and one behind. As we got out of the car and were putting a bit more time on the meter, a car pulled into the spot behind us. Another Canadian woman got out and said, "Isn't that a typical American." We turned to her laughing, we thought she was joking. We said, "What?" And she said, "Isn't that typical American behavior. Not willing to pull forward a few centimeters, you have to make things hard on everyone else." Then, as we gaped at her, she said very sarcastically, "Welcome to Canada."

Now, I realize that there is a LOT of anti-American sentiment, which I totally understand what with the war and crazy politics and such. But honestly-- is she actually small-minded enough to think everyone's like that? My dad left a note on her windshield saying:

"Before you came, a nice Canadian woman gave us her parking spot with 45 minutes left. Please watch your stereotypes against ANY country. P.S. We marched against the war"

I was proud of him, and that incident has stayed with me for awhile. It's just so bizarre to have that happen to you when you never think it will.

Megan-- I'm so sorry! I had my letter back to you written and ready to mail on Tuesday-- then we had to leave in a hurry and I forgot, and before I knew it we were in Canada on Wednesday. If you want to e-mail your home address to me at [email protected] I will send it there instead. Sorry!

Bryan sent me an e-mail. Warm fuzzies. :)